There are three different ways you can manage people in DevPanel...
The easiest and quickest way of inviting people into your DevPanel Workspace is by adding them as Collaborators.
To do this, go to the People tab in your workspace and click the "Add Collaborator" button.
When adding a Collaborator, you can give them one of three roles:
To add a new Collaborator, follow the following steps
They should receive an email with a link to join DevPanel and access your workspace.
Users you invite can sign up with another email address if they like... for example, if you invite [email protected], they might accept your invite and join DevPanel (and your Workspace) as [email protected].
Users who already have an account on DevPanel can accept your invite under their existing account - which may be different than the one you invited them at.
If you want to accept a new invite under a new/different/separate DevPanel account, you must first log out of DevPanel before accepting the invite. You will then get a chance to login with your existing account to accept the invite or to create a new account for this invite.
Users you invite also have the option to DECLINE your invite.
There are times when the user you're inviting does not get the email, maybe the email goes into SPAM, or gets blocked for some reason, or there's a delay in getting the email... BUT you're on a meeting with your collaborators on Slack or Zoom and it's just easier for you to send them a join-now link over chat...
For that, use the "Invite Link" function.
Next to each pending user, you'll see three "Action" buttons:
To get the Invite Link, use the following steps:
Now you can paste that link in an Email, Slack, or on Zoom to send it directly to the person you're inviting. They will be able to join your Workspace instantly with this link.
You can group a bunch of people in a Team and assign them to your workspaces as Users or Admins.
As Users, the team members will not be able to invite others to the workspace and will not be able to delete resources.
The benefit of using Teams is that when you add a new user to a team, that new user is automatically added to ALL workspaces that the team has access to. Conversely, when you delete a user from a team, that user loses access to ALL workspaces that the team has access to.
You can find Teams under People in your Workspace...
To manage Team members,
On the Teams pages, you can expect to find three different types of Teams...
You can only edit & delete (4) the teams that you've created... the other lists are managed by the system.
Under Teams, you can also manage your Users.
There are three types of Users
There are three types of User Status
Blocked users will not be able to login and will effectively lose access to all workspaces and projects in DevPanel.
DevPanel Development and Production environment, cluster and server access is based on single sign-on so blocked users SHOULD lose access to all resouces managed by single sign-on.
Blocked users, however, will remain on teams and part of workspaces... so if and when you activate them, they will regain their prior access.
DevPanel, itself, does not rely on user's SSH keys for resource access so we don't manage any keys through the dashboard. However, this DOES NOT mean that a malicious actor could not leave behind SSH keys as backdoors on your infrastructure. It is your responsibility to secure and scan your infrastructure and keep your users and applications safe.
Application access is generally managed in applications directly so blocking users in DevPanel will not block those users from accessing your applications directly. Blocking users on DevPanel should be part of a comprehensive plan for protecting your applications and infrastructure but never the only thing that you rely on.